Tuesday, December 2, 2008


Gov. Bill Ritter today announced the appointments of numerous Coloradans to a variety of boards and commissions.
Small Business Council
Coulter M. Bump of Denver
Burke O'Hara Fort of Golden
Sandra M. Gutierrez of Pueblo (reappointed)
Greg Lopez of Elizabeth
Shelley L. McPherson of Pueblo West
James J. Neubecker of Fort Collins
Christina S. Reddin of Grand Junction
Kelly L. Roth of Colorado Springs
Arjun Sen of Centennial
Nirav Shah of Centennial
Mark R. Thomas of Highlands Ranch
Richard K. Wertz of Crestone
The 45-member Council makes recommendations for regulatory and statutory changes needed at all levels of government to encourage the initiation, stability and growth of small business enterprises. Council members serve at the pleasure of the governor, and Senate confirmation is not required.
CoverColorado Board of Directors
Jayne R. Howard of Columbine Valley, for a term expiring July 1, 2011.
Christine M. Gilroy of Denver and Daryl W. Edmonds of Highlands Ranch, for terms expiring July 1, 2012.
The seven-member Board works to provide access to health insurance to approximately 2,500 Coloradans through the CoverColorado program. Recipients are considered "high-risk" and are not covered by other public or private insurance due to pre-existing health conditions. Senate confirmation is required.
Science and Technology Education Grant Program Advisory Board
Jennifer G. Jirous of Colorado Springs and Mary Ann Roe of Aurora, for terms expiring Oct. 1, 2009.
Seth H. Berg of Telluride, for a term expiring Oct. 1, 2010.
The five-member Board reviews applications for the Science and Technology Education Center Grant Program and submits recommendations to the State Board of Education. Senate confirmation is not required.
State Judicial Performance Commission
Paul Farley of Centennial and Beverly Newton of Fort Collins, for terms expiring Nov. 30, 2013.
The 10-member Commission develops evaluation techniques for Colorado district and county judges, justices of the Supreme Court, and judges of the Court of Appeals. Senate confirmation is not required.
Colorado Advisory Council for Persons with Disabilities
Darlene D. Beals of Englewood
John M. Beckman of Aurora
Megan E. Burgess of Aurora
Hon. Morgan L. Carroll of Aurora
Benjamin Cordova of Denver
Robert Epstein of Highlands Ranch
Griffith McClure of Denver
William F. Muth of Denver
Sharon Ann Pearce of Littleton
Gina M. Robinson of Arvada
Dwight G. Roinestad of Highlands Ranch
Joseph Sims of Denver
Marie Valenzuela of Westminster
The 20-member Council coordinates with state boards, advisory councils and commissions established for or related to people with disabilities, advises the Governor and General Assembly on legislation and state policy affecting persons with disabilities, monitors the state's implementation of Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, and acts as an additional entry point for public grievances regarding disability issues. Senate confirmation is not required.
Colorado State Child Fatality Prevention Review Team
(for terms expiring Sept.1, 2011)
Amy Martin, M.D., of Denver (reappointed).
Kelly C. Lear-Kaul, M.D. of Littleton (reappointed).
Sgt. Brad L. Lenderink of Parker (reappointed).
Sgt. Matthew T. Testa of Littleton.
Artelle Jones of Pueblo West (reappointed).
Larry J. Mathews, M.D., of Littleton (reappointed).
Maria J. Mandt, M.D., of Denver.
Deniz Y. Kolozs, M.D., of Denver.
Antonia E. Chiesa, M.D., of Denver.
Mary Pat DeWald, R.N., of Evergreen (reappointed).
Theresa Rapstine, R.N., of Denver (reappointed).
Honorable David E. Long of New Raymer (reappointed).
The 17-member Team reviews specified deaths of children from birth to 18 years of age involving circumstances in which the children had received services from a county department or in which there had been a report of suspected abuse or neglect. Senate confirmation is not required.
Charter School Institute Board
Dean L. Titterington of Englewood, for a term expiring July 1, 2009.
Wayne D. Eckerling of Denver and Patrick A. Grippe of Highlands Ranch, for terms expiring July 1, 2011.
The nine-member Board fosters high-quality public school choices offered through institute charter schools, particularly schools for at-risk students. Senate confirmation is required.
For additional information about the Governor's Office of Boards and Commissions, including details about how to obtain an application, please contact the office by clicking here, emailing boards@state.co.us, or calling 303.866.6380.
# # #