Tuesday, December 29, 2009



Many state government offices will be closed Thursday (Dec. 31) as one of eight mandatory furlough days this fiscal year to help cut expenses and keep the state budget balanced during the economic downturn. State offices also will be closed Friday (Jan. 1) in observance of New Year's Day.


State driver's license offices, the Department of Public Health and Environment's vital records office, state history museums, Attorney General's Office, Division of Wildlife Service Centers and administrative offices for executive branch departments will be among the facilities closed Thursday, with about 15,500 employees on unpaid furlough.


Colorado State Parks will be open Thursday (except for visitor centers). State troopers will be patrolling the highways. Department of Transportation snow plows and maintenance crews will be working as necessary, and the Traffic Operations Center will be running. The state unemployment benefits office, state nursing homes, hospitals and care centers also will be open. The state Judicial Branch and courts, Treasurer's Office and Secretary of State's Office will be open as well.


This will be the fourth closure day in FY09-10, with the remaining four scheduled for Jan. 15, Feb. 12, April 2 and May 28. The eight furlough days will save taxpayers $27.2 million.