Wednesday, December 26, 2007

Lt. Gov. Barbara O'Brien Appoints First Colorado Early Childhood Advisory Team

Lieutenant Governor Barbara O'Brien has appointed 21 people to Colorado's first Early Childhood Councils Advisory Team to help support and strengthen local efforts for children statewide.

The Office of Lt. Gov. Barbara O'Brien, in partnership with the Colorado Department of Human Services, is convening the team, which was created by legislation last year.
"These volunteers will provide advice and support to local early childhood councils to improve and sustain the availability, accessibility, capacity and quality of early childhood services for children and families throughout the state.  There is no more important goal than to make Colorado the best place for families to raise their children," said Lt. Gov. O'Brien.
Local early childhood councils address community issues on early care and education, mental health, health and family support. Local councils are comprised of a combination of public and private stakeholders including parents, service providers, educators, health care professionals, community leaders, and others.
Appointed to the inaugural Early Childhood Councils Advisory Team:
Alfredo Esguerra (Adams County)
Betty Baca (Denver)
Charlotte Pirnat (La Plata County)
Derrick Padilla (Pueblo)
Lisa Poppaw (Larimer County)
Lucinda Burns (Grand/Summit Counties)
Noelle Hause (Weld County)
Pam Walker (Fremont County)
Rose Clement (Logan, Phillips & Sedgwick County)
Sarah Scully (Boulder County)
Sherri Valdez (San Luis Valley)
Tom Gangel (Routt County)
Virginia Howey (Montezuma/Dolores Counties)
Diana Romero Campbell (Denver)
Diane Price (Colorado Springs)
Jennifer Landrum (Denver)
Lisa Merlino (Denver)
Megan Wilson (Denver)
Gladys Wilson (Denver)
Priscilla Logan Queen (Douglas County)
Sudy Opsahl (Denver)
The group is appointed to two-year terms, which begin in January 2008.