Wednesday, September 17, 2008


Gov. Bill Ritter announced today he has appointed Allegra "Happy" Haynes of Denver to the Colorado Commission on Higher Education. Gov. Ritter also named new members to the Colorado Lottery Commission and Colorado Tourism Office Board of Directors.
Haynes is currently the assistant to the superintendent of Denver Public Schools for community partnerships. She served on the Denver City Council from 1990 to 2003 and as council president from 1998 to 2000. She was Denver Mayor John Hickenlooper's liaison to the council from 2003 to 2005.
She serves on the boards of the Colorado Children's Campaign, Stapleton Development Corp. and Foundation for Educational Excellence.
She is a 1971 graduate of Denver's East High School, and she earned her bachelor's degree in political science from Barnard College atColumbia University in 1975 and her master's degree in public affairs from the University of Colorado in 2002.
Gov. Ritter appointed Haynes to a term expiring July 1, 2010. Appointments to the 11-member Colorado Commission on Higher Education require Senate confirmation. The commission sets policies for all state-supported institutions of higher learning.
Gov. Ritter also announced additional appointments today:
Colorado Lottery Commission
Dana M. Franzen of Monument, for a term expiring July 1, 2010.
Betty J. Martinez of Pueblo, for a term expiring July 1, 2012.
Appointments to the five-member commission require Senate confirmation. The commission governs the operation of the state Lottery and conducts hearings on granting or suspending licenses for Lottery sales.
Colorado Tourism Office Board of Directors
James E. Durr of Eckert, for a term expiring June 1, 2012.
Appointments to the 13-member board are for four years and require Senate confirmation. The board sets and administers policies regarding expenditures from the Colorado Travel and Tourism Fund for promoting travel and tourism activities that benefit the state.
For additional information about the Governor's Office of Boards and Commissions, including details about how to obtain an application, please contact the office by clicking here, emailing, or calling 303.866.6380.