Monday, November 20, 2006


Hundreds of Community Members to Participate in Review Process
Nearly 40 civic leaders convened today for their first meeting as co-chairs of the transition committees that will help Gov.-Elect Bill Ritter analyze the current state of Colorado's governmental agencies and recommend nominees for his Cabinet and other positions.
"We have a tremendous amount of work to accomplish over the next few weeks," Ritter said. "I'm grateful to have such a diverse group from Colorado's vital public and private sectors providing this valuable insight and input. All of Colorado will benefit from their investment of time, energy and dedication. This truly is the beginning of how we will build a public trust and govern well."
The co-chairs of 18 advisory committees gathered this morning for their first meeting. The individual committees also began meeting today, and each of them will hold at least one session before Thanksgiving. Each advisory committee will be composed of 12 to 20 members, for a combined total that could exceed 300 individuals. Each committee also will be assisted by a volunteer staff member who will serve as a facilitator and discussion leader.
"The advisory committees will conduct a thorough review of the designated department or agency," said Jim Lyons, the transition team's executive director. "This will allow the committees to identify both structural and policy issues within each department, and then see how those issues align with the governor-elect's comprehensive 'Colorado Promise' policy agenda."  
Another of the committees' top responsibilities will be to identify qualified candidates for Cabinet- and director-level positions within the new administration. More than 700 resumes have been submitted thus far, and the number grows each day.
Ritter hopes to have as many members of his Cabinet in place by the Jan. 9 inauguration as possible.
Ritter's transition team co-chairs, former state Sen. Norma Anderson and businessman Daniel Yohannes, have asked the advisory committees to conclude their work and present a list of qualified candidates by Dec. 15.
"Today's kick-off meeting was a great beginning to this extremely inclusive and bi-partisan phase of fulfilling the Colorado Promise," Anderson and Yohannes said. "Many of the best minds in Colorado are committed to assisting Gov.-Elect Ritter and Lt. Gov.-Elect O'Brien build a Cabinet that will be focused on solving Colorado's problems and tackling issues that matter."
Ritter-O'Brien Transition Advisory Committee Co-Chairs
Kathleen Kelley, former state lawmaker
John Stulp, former Prowers County commissioner
Volunteer Staff: Rebecca Swanson
Freddie Alvarez, former Denver District Court judge
Don Quick, 17th Judicial District Attorney
Volunteer Staff: Tim Daly
Economic Development and International Trade
Reeves Brown, executive director, Club 20
Robert Cohen, chairman and CEO, IMA Financial Group
Ron Montoya, president and CEO, Plasticomm
Volunteer Staff: Ford Frick
Dorothy Horrell, president, Bonfils-Stanton Foundation
Christine Johnson, president, Community College of Denver
Barbara O'Brien, lieutenant-governor elect
Al Yates, former president, Colorado State University
Volunteer Staff: Craig Welling
Energy Management and Conservation
Michael Bowman, chair of Colorado's New Energy Future
Patricia Vincent, president and CEO of Xcel Energy's Public Service Co. of Colorado
Volunteer Staff: John Parr
Health Care Policy and Finance
Rick May, former president, Colorado Medical Society
Barbara O'Brien, lieutenant-governor elect
Annie Wohlgenant, vice president of philanthropy, Colorado Health Foundation
Volunteer Staff: Edie Sonn
Human Services
Barbara McDonnell, executive vice president, Colorado Community College System
Kindra Mulch, administrator, Kit Carson County Health and Human Services
Gloria Tanner, former state senator
Volunteer Staff: Natalie Hyman
Information Technology
Rich Baer, executive vice president/general  counsel, Qwest
Cathy Fogler, vice president of video product management, Charter Communications
Volunteer Staff: Mike Dino
Labor and Employment
Joseph Garcia, president, Colorado State University at Pueblo
Neal Hall, business manager, Colorado Building and Construction Trades Council
Rosemary Marshall, state representative
Volunteer Staff: Christy Murphy
Local Affairs
Marcy Morrison, mayor of Manitou Springs
Rosemary Rodriguez, Denver City Council member
Ken Torres, Las Animas County commissioner
Volunteer Staff: Peter Kenney
Military Affairs
Andy Love, major general (retired)
Larry Drake, captain, Marine Corps, 1967-73
Volunteer Staff: Joel Glover
Natural Resources
Howard Boigon, partner, Hogan & Hartson LLP
Kathleen Curry, state representative
Volunteer Staff: Andy Spielman
Personnel and Administration
Andre Pettigrew, chief operating officer, Denver Public Schools
Wendell Pryor, division director, Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Volunteer Staff: Scott Martinez
Public Health and Environment
Richard Hoffman, former chief medical officer, Colo. Dept. of Public Health and Environment
Jim Martin, executive director, Western Resource Advocates
Volunteer Staff: Mark Messenbaugh
Public Safety
Jeanne Smith, former 4th Judicial District Attorney and current deputy attorney general
Larry Trujillo, Denver fire chief
Volunteer Staff: Terri Livermore
Regulatory Agencies
Phil Fegin, former Colorado securities commissioner
Gail Klapper, director, Colorado  Forum
Wellington Webb, former mayor of Denver
Volunteer Staff: Ben Kelly
Carol Hedges, senior fiscal analyst, Colorado Fiscal Policy Institute
John Ikard, president, FirstBank
Peggy Reeves, former state senator
Volunteer Staff: Keith Hay
Bill Kaufman, former state representative and current Colo. Transp. Commissioner
Carla Perez, Carter & Burgess
Volunteer Staff: Lori Fox